UGANDA: LOP Mathias Mpuuga Names Shadow Cabinet

The Leader of Opposition in Parliament, Mathias Mpuuga has today appointed a 30- member Shadow Cabinet team

Kampala, Uganda | AFRICATEMBELEA | The Leader of Opposition in Parliament, Mathias Mpuuga has today appointed a 30- member Shadow Cabinet team, naming Ndorwa East MP Wilfred Niwagaba as Attorney General.

Also appointed are Kampala Woman MP Shamim Malende as Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs; Butambala County MP Muwanga Kivumbi Muhammad as Minister of Finance; Planning and Economic Development; Kyotera Woman MP Nantongo Fortunate as Minister of Gender, Labour and Social Development; Bukonzo West MP Atkins Katusabe as Minister of Public Service; Makindye East MP Derrick Nyeko as Minister of Presidency and Security and Kabonera County MP Dr Bwanika Abed Kimaanya as Minister of Agriculture.

“By virtue of powers conferred upon me under Article 82A(c) of the Constitution and Rule 14 (2) of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, I have appointed and designated the following Honourable Members of Parliament to the Shadow Cabinet,” reads a statement issued by Mpuuga.

Also Read
OFWONO OPONDO: Uganda Cabinet placates soft egos, religious and ethnic interests
UGANDA: Museveni names Jessica Alupo VP, Robinah Nabbanja PM in new Cabinet

The others appointed are Luweero Woman MP Nabukenya Brendah as Minister of Education; Erute South MP Odur Jonathan as Minister of Defence and Veteran Affairs; Mukono North MP Kiwanuka Abdallah as Minister of Internal Affairs; Jinja City West MP Dr. Batuwa Timothy Lusala as Minister of Health; Mawokota South MP Nsibambi Yusuf as Minister of Works and Transport and Rubaga North MP Kawalya Abubaker as Minister of Kampala Capital City Authority and others.

Mpuuga has also appointed Kyadondo East MP Nkunyingi Muwada as Minister of Foreign Affairs; Nakawa East MP Balimwezo Ronald Nsubuga as Minister of Lands Housing and Urban Development; Hoima City Woman MP Nyakato Asinasi as Minister of Energy and Minerals; Mbale Industrial Division MP Masaba Karem as Minister of Tourism and Wildlife; Kassanda South MP Kabuye Frank as Minister for Youth and Children Affairs and Buhweju County MP Mwijukye Francis as Minister of Trade and Industry.

Wakiso Woman MP Naluyima Betty becomes the shadow minister Minister of Local Government, Mukono Woman MP Nabukeera Hanifa Minister of Human Rights; Kiboga Woman MP Kaaya Christine Nakimwero Minister of Water and Environment; Mawogola Woman MP Namugga Gorreth as Minister of Science, Innovations and Technology while Mawokota North MP Kiyaga Hilary becomes shadow minister for Culture and Performing Arts.

Other shadow ministers are Soroti City Woman MP Adeke Anna Ebaju for Co-operatives & Microfinance, Mityana Woman MP Bagala Joyce for Information & Anti-Corruption, Aruu North MP Okot Santa for Special Regions (Luweero, Karamoja, Northern Uganda, Bunyoro, Teso), Kilak South MP Olanya Gilbert for East African Community Affairs, Bbaale County MP Tebandeke Charles for Animal Industry & Fisheries and Bukomansimbi South MP Kayemba Geoffrey Solo for Sports.

The male shadow minister are 19 and females are 11. The National Unity Platform-NUP, the leading Opposition Party has taken up 18 positions, Forum for Democratic Change -FDC 7, Independents 2, Democratic Party – DP 1, Uganda People’s Congress -UPC 1 and People’s Progressive Party – PPP 1.


Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here