Uganda Cranes Captain Onyango Named On FIFPro Team Of The Year

By :
AT Team

Uganda Cranes goalkeeper and captain Dennis Onyango was named on the FIFPro Africa CAF team of the year.

This was during the Aiteo CAF Awards 2018 held in Dakar, Senegal on the night of Tuesday, 8th January 2019 attended by FIFA President Gianni Infantino, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad, President of Republic of Senegal Macky Sall and Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) President Eng. Moses Magogo.

READ: Salah retains CAF African Player of the Year gong

Onyango was once again inspirational for Uganda Cranes in the qualification to the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations, making it unbeaten with a game to spare and not conceding in as many as five matches.

L-R Dennis Onyango, Sadio Mane, Geremi Njitap and Mohammad Salah

The other players on the team include; the CAF footballer of the year 2018 Mohammed Salah, Aurier, Benatia, Bailly, Koulibaly, Keita, Partey, Mahad Mahrez, Aubameyang and Sadio Mane.

Onyango was present in Dakar to pick his award. FUFA CEO Edgar Watson led a strong delegation from Uganda at the awards that had Cranes coach Sebastien Desabre. FUFA President Eng.

Moses Magogo was also in Dakar as CAF Executive Committee Member where he also attended the meeting that confirmed Egypt as this year’s hosts for the AFCON tournament.

ALSO READ: Egypt will host the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations

Meanwhile, Mauritania was named the CAF national team of the year, coming ahead of Uganda Cranes and Madagascar, the other nominated teams.

Full Awards:

CAF Male Player of the Year 2018 – Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year 2018 – Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

Youth Player of the Year – Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)

Men’s National Team of the Year – Mauritania

Women’s National Team of the Year – Nigeria

Men’s Coach of the Year – Herve Renard (Morocco)

Women’s Coach of the Year – Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Federation President of the Year – Fouzi Lekjaa

Platinum Award – His Excellency Macky Sall (President of the Republic of Senegal)

Goal of the Year – Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here