UGANDA: Cabinet approves new ERA Board of Directors

Dr. Sarah Kanaabi Wasagali. Courtesy Photo/File
By :
Baluku Geoffrey

Entebbe, Uganda – Cabinet has approved the appointment of members of the Electricity Regulatory Authority-ERA with Dr. Sarah Wasagali Kanaabi being confirmed as chairperson.

In a post on twitter, Uganda Media Centre, said the decisions were taken during the cabinet meeting held on Monday, September 28, 2020 at State House Entebbe.

Other members that were appointed on the new board include Amb Joan Rwabyomere, Eng. Erias Kiyemba, Prof. John Ddumba Ssentamu and Eng. Joseph Oteng Otogo.

According to the Electricity Act, 1999, the Chief Executive Officer is an Ex officio member of the Authority, but does not have a right to vote at any meeting of the Authority.

– ERA –

The Electricity Regulatory Authority is a Statutory Body established in the year 2000, in accordance with the Electricity Act, 1999, (Chapter 145 of the Laws of Uganda) to regulate the Generation, Transmission, Distribution, Sale, Export and Import of Electrical Energy in Uganda.

ERA is also mandated to establish a tariff structure, approve rates of charges among other functions.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here