South Korean Nationals Denied Entry Into Uganda over Coronavirus

By :
AT Reporter

Entebbe, Uganda – The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) on Friday blocked 10 South Korean nationals from entering the country.

According to Vianney Luggya, the CAA spokesperson, RwandaAir had jetted in with over 10 South Koreans and other nationals. He said that since South Korea is listed among the countries under category one, they were advised to return to their country.

Luggya also adds that, CAA has now formally written to airlines informing them not to bring any passengers from category one countries. He, however, adds that Uganda nationals returning home will be received and quarantined for 14 days.

“The notice advising airlines not to bring in passengers from category one was issued on Thursday night but the ones (10 South Koreans) we are talking about in particular, there are other issues, such as issues of quarantine which they initially rejected among others,” said Mr Luggya.

On Wednesday President Museveni issued directives banning travellers from category one countries into the country. The countries include Italy, France, South Korea, USA, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Switzerland, Sweden, Belgium, Germany, Spain, Norway Austria, Malaysia, Pakistan, China and San Marino.

“Foreigners going to those countries are free to do so provided they do not intend to come back within the prohibited time. We cannot stop Ugandans coming back from abroad even from category one countries but they will be put in a mandatory quarantine in designated places at their own cost…,” President Museveni said on Wednesday.

Verbertim: President Museveni’s Address on Coronavirus

According to Worldometer statistics 271,986 COVID-19 cases have been registered globally, with 11,299 deaths and 90,618 having recovered. On the African continent, Egypt followed by South Africa has the highest number of cases standing at 210 and 116 respectively.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here