Philippines’ Cyrille Payumo is Miss Tourism International 2019

The Philippines' representative Cyrille Payumo wins Miss Tourism International 2019 crown during the coronation night on Friday, November 8, at Sunway Resort Hotel and Spa in Malaysia.
By :
AT Team

Petaling, Jaya – The Philippines’ representative Cyrille Payumo was crowned as the new Miss Tourism International 2019 during the coronation night on Friday, November 8, at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa in Malaysia.

Cyrille Payumo, 20, of Porac, Pampanga, is the fifth Filipina to win in the 25-year-old beauty pageant. She also won the Best in National Costume special award.

Other winners were Miss Indonesia Gabrielle Patricia Mandalong, Miss Tourism Queen of the Year International 2019; Miss Ukraine Kateryna Kachashvili, Miss Tourism Global 2019; Miss Poland Joanna Babynko, Miss Tourism Cosmopolitan International 2019; and Miss Cambodia Chan Sotima, Dreamgirl of the Year International 2019.

Miss Southeast Asia Tourism Ambassadress 2019/20 was a special award won by Miss Thailand Chompoonut Ohungphon.

Besides that, there were also 16 other subsidiary title awards to Miss AGAPE Wellness Beauty – won by Gabriella Patricia Mandolang (Indonesia); Miss DSWISS Beauty – won by Chompoonut Phungphon (Thailand); Miss Focus Point Dazzling – won by Kateryna Kachashvili (Ukraine); Miss GINTELL Wellness – won by Cheryl Loo (Malaysia); Miss Glamorous Carlo Rino – won by Cheryl Loo (Malaysia); Miss Glorious Beautyful – won by Cheryl Loo (Malaysia); Miss XMA Charm – won by Kana Matsumura (Japan) and Miss SOGO Trendsetter – won by Chompoonut Phungphon (Thailand).

Others were Miss Legend Age Fascinating Lips – won by Rhythm Singh Randhawa (India); Miss Popularity – won by Gabriella Patricia Mandolang (Indonesia); Miss Friendship – won by Daniela Kalvilainen (Finland); Miss Photogenic – won by Charli Kiarra Wookey (Australia); Best in Talent – won by Dzhenifar Ohanes Koyunian (Bulgaria); Best in National Costume – won by Cyrille Payumo (Philippines); Best in Social Media – won by Rhythm Singh Randhawa (India) and Perak Tourism Ambassadress – won by Gabriella Patricia Mandolang (Indonesia).

It was however a sentimental moment for Payumo who from the start was not the original Filipino contestant for the Miss Tourism International beauty pageant.

Payumo finished as first runner-up when she competed in the 51st Mutya Pilipinas beauty contest held at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City last August 18.

Tyra Goldman of Nevada then won Mutya Pilipinas Tourism International, earning her the right to compete in the contest in Malaysia.

But organizers of the Miss Tourism International disqualified Goldman when they found out that Goldman was not born in the Philippine but in the US.

“They don’t have anything against candidates with dual citizenships but they want someone who was born in the Philippines,” said Cory Quirino, Mutya Pilipinas president. Thus, Payumo was sent to the competition abroad.

Quirino said Goldman who is based in the US will compete in another international pageant early next year.

The Miss Tourism International pageant is usually held on New Year’s Eve. But in 2017, organizers changed its format and decided to stage it before Christmas.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here