New Executives Take Office At The Greater Virunga Transboundary Collaboration


Kigali – The Greater Virunga Transboundary Collaboration (GVTC) was established by the governments of Rwanda, Uganda and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) as a framework for collaboration in management of wildlife and tourism development in the Greater Virunga Landscape (GVL). GVL straddles the boundaries of the three countries and has seven national parks that are interconnected.

They are Volcanoes National park in Rwanda, Virunga national park in DRC and Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Mgahinga Gorilla National Park, Semuliki National Park, Queen Elizabeth National Park and Rwenzori Mountains National Park in Uganda.

The three countries signed a treaty in 2015 that legally established GVTC. One of the organs of GVTC is the Executive Secretariat based in Kigali, Rwanda, with the responsibility of running day to day activities of transboundary collaboration. As per the Treaty (Article 12) the Executive Secretariat is headed by Executive Secretary with two Deputies.

The Executive Secretary is designated by a partner state other than the one where the secretariat is based and shall hold office for a period of four years on rotational basis. The two deputies are designated by partner states other than the one that designated the Executive Secretary.

Dr Muamba Tshibashu Georges whose term of office has ended was designated by DRC as the Executive Secretary. In the spirit of rotation as per the Treaty (2015), Uganda has designated Dr. Andrew Seguya as Executive Secretary following the end of mandate of Dr Muamba.

In the same spirit, DRC has designated Mrs. Fatuma Kabeya Rosy as the Deputy Executive Secretary for Finance and Administration, replacing Mrs Grace Kyomuhendo from Uganda. Mr. Fidele Ruzigandekwe from Rwanda continues to serve as deputy Executive Secretary for Programmes.

Dr Muamba has handed over to the new Executive Secretary, Dr Andrew Seguya. Dr. Muamba and his top management team is credited for strengthening capacity of the secretariat and mobilizing state partners to sign the GVTC Treaty. Dr. Seguya a former Executive Director at Uganda Wildlife Authority was replaced by Mr Sam Mwandha.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here