Kenya defeats Djibouti to win UN Security Council Seat

Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta termed the win as a demonstration of the country's growing profile and influence in the community of nations. /PSCU
By :
AT Reporter

Kenya has finally been confirmed to take a non-permanent seat at the UN Security Council for 2021-2022, after defeating Djibouti during the second round of voting on Thursday, June 18.

The East African nation obtained 129 votes to Djibouti’s 62, in the race to take the Africa seat.

Of the 193 members of the United Nations, 191 registered a valid ballot. A two-thirds majority, or 128 votes, was required to win.

Kenya was fronted by the African Union (AU) even though Djibouti claimed it had priority under the principle of rotation, as Kenya had sat on the Council more times.

The Vice President of Kenya, His Excellency William Samoei Ruto, said Kenya would her stint to promote the Pan-Africanist agenda.

“We will no doubt use this stint at the Council to further the Pan-Africanist agenda of peace building, security around the globe and multilateralism. Congratulations to our team led by President Uhuru Kenyatta,” Ruto posted on twitter.

Former prime minister Raila Odinga stated that the election marked one of the brightest points of Kenya’s engagement with the world.

“Kenya’s election to the UN Security Council this evening marks one of the brightest points of our engagement with the world,” he posted on twitter.

“It is also a bold manifestation that with solidarity, Africa, which backed Kenya, can have its way on the global stage,” he added.

On his part, James Orengo the Siaya County and Senate Minority Leader said he was excited about the news.

“The election of Kenya to the UN Security Council is good news. Congratulations to our team at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Nairobi, the one at the UN Mission in New York and the Government for the campaign they did. Congratulations!” Senator Orengo tweeted.

On Wednesday, the General Assembly elected four new members of the Security Council for 2021 and 2022 — India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway. The Security Council has 10 non-permanent members in addition to the veto-wielding Big Five — Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

The African Union is pushing for two permanent and five non-permanent seats for African states to be filled by candidates agreed on by the continental body.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here