FDC Drops Winnie Kiiza, Appoints Betty Aol as Leader of Opposition in Parliament


KAMPALA – The Forum for the Democratic Change president Patrick Amuriat has made changes in the Parliament leadership.

The changes have seen the dropping of Leader of Opposition and Kasese Woman MP Winnie Kiiza. Kiiza was replaced by Gulu Woman Member of Parliament Aol Ochan after serving for two years.

Kiira Municipality Member of Parliament Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda maintained his place as the Opposition Whip in Parliament. He will be deputized by Bukonzo East Member of Parliament Harold Tonny Muhindo who takes over a post hitherto held by Rukungiri Municipality MP Roland Mugume Kaginda. Kaginda Ronald has been nominated as a member of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU).

Oboi also named Buhweju MP Francis Mwijukye as a Parliament Commissioner dropping Dokolo Woman MP Cecilia Ogwal. Mukono Municipality MP Betty Nambooze has been nominated as a representative at the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) while Busongora North MP William Nzoghu as a Pan African Parliament (PAP) representative

Other changes saw Mbale Municipality MP Jack Wamai Wamanga sent to represent FDC at the African Caribbean and Pacific Parliament (ACP).

Committee Chairpersons

The FDC Party President has also reshuffled chairpersons of accountability committees appointing Budadiri West MP Nathan Nandala Mafabi as new Chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC). He will be deputized by Chwa West MP Okin P.P Ojara.

Agago Woman MP Franca Judith Akello is appointed new Chairperson of the Local Government Accounts Committee replacing Aswa County MP Ronald Reagan Okumu. She will be deputized by Kilak County MP Gilbert Olanya, who is replacing Chwa West MP Okin P.P Ojara.

Kawempe South MP Mubarak Munyagwa is new Chairperson of the Committee on Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises (COSASE) and will be deputized by Rubaga North MP Moses Kasibante.

Obongi County MP Hassan Kaps Fungaroo is maintained as Chairperson of the Government Assurance Committee deputized by Nakawa county MP Michael Kabaziguruka.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here