Elioda Tumwesigye is Sheema municipality MP elect


The Electoral Commission has declared the minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr Elioda Tumwesigye, NRM as the winner of Sheema Municipality MP race.

Tumwesigye was in the race with six other candidates who included; Ms Virginia Plan Mugyenyi, FDC, Mr Ambrose Mwesigye, Mr Benjamin Ruyombya, Mr Jonas Tumwiine, Mr Raymond Kamugisha and Mr Meshach Katusiime all on independent ticket.

Dr Tumwesigye won the race with 13, 590 votes, while his close rival Virginia managed to get 11, 489 votes.

Mr Benjamin Ruyombya got 867 votes, Mr Meshach Katusiime got 756, Mr Raymond Kamugisha got 276 votes, Mr Jonas Tumwiine got 185 while Mr Ambrose Mwesigye got 32.

Accordingly, the Sheema District Returning Officer Ms Deborah Asiimwe in accordance with section 58(1) of the parliamentary elections act, declared Elioda Tumwesigye who obtained the largest number of votes, to be the elected candidate of Sheema Municipality Constituency.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here