Denis Onyango, Uganda Cranes nominated for 2018 CAF Awards

Uganda Cranes Captain Denis Onyango. (Courtesy Photo)
By :
Geoffrey Baluku

Uganda Cranes Captain and goal keeper, Denis Onyango who also plays for Mamelodi Sundowns in South Africa has been nominated for the 2018 African Player of the Year Award.

The nomination follows a Confederation of African Football (Caf) announcement this morning.

Onyango who has been in scintillating form for both club as well as the national team this season will be up against 33 others including Liverpool trio of Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Naby Keita.

Egyptian Salah won the award last year after scoring 44 goals in all competitions during his first season at Anfield.

A couple of previous African Player of the Year winners, Algerian Riyad Mahrez of Manchester City and Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Arsenal, are other contenders.

The Awards Gala, to honour footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

Uganda also features in the Team of the year award category together with Zimbabwe, Kenya, Mauritania, Guinea Bissau, and Madagascar.

The Cranes which won the CAF Best Team of the year 2016 accolade hasn’t lost any game in the 2019 AFCON qualifiers despite having already qualified for the finals with 13 points in 5 games, with a game left in Group L.

The award winners will be decided through a vote by the CAF Technical and Development Committee, Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, Coaches and Captains of the national teams of the 54 Member Associations.

African Player of the Year Nominees list

Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria & ES Setif)

Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt & El Masry)

Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Al-Nassr)

Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)

Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)

Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)

Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco & Hebei China Fortune)

Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar & Clermont Foot)

Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)

Jacinto Muondo Dala ‘Gelson’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)

Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Everton)

Ismail Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)

Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)

Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Changchun Yatai, Nigeria)

Percy Tau (South Africa & Union Saint-Gilloise)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Taha Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)

Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Saint-Étienne)

Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)

Wilfried Zaha (Cote d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)

Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)

Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Esperance)

Men’s National Team of the Year

Guinea Bissau






In a related development, the newly released FIFA Rankings on Thursday 29th November, show an improvement of Uganda by 4 places from 79th to 75th with 1320 points.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here