Busongora South MP defeated in FDC primaries

The incumbent Busongora South MP in Kasese district Jackson Mbaju has been defeated in the FDC party primaries. Courtesy Photo/File

Kasese, Uganda – The incumbent Member of Parliament, Busongora South County in Kasese district Jackson Mbaju has been defeated in the Forum for Democratic Change- FDC party primaries.

Mbaju lost to Alozious Baguma Kighima who polled 258 votes against Mbaju’s 245. The other candidate in the race Sadrack Bakulirah managed to gather 159 votes.

William Nzogho Musabe retained the party flag for Busongora North County after defeating his rivals Elly Magwara Masereka with 706 poles. Masereka polled 81 votes and Josephat Ngaru Masereka who managed 42 votes.

Godfrey Katusabe Atkins also retained his candidature as the party flag bearer for Bukonzo west after garnering 645 votes against his rival Benon Muhindo who managed 32 votes.

Harold Tony Muhindo was elected unopposed for the Bukonzo East seat.

The LCV chairperson Sibendire Bigogo emerged winner with 242 votes while his closest rival Abdul Saad polled 86 votes. The other candidates Augustine Masereka Musema and Ronald Bwambale polled 79 and 54 votes respectively.

The incumbent Woman MP Kasese district Winnie Kiiza, who last month announced her retirement will be replaced by Florence Kabugho who gained 259 votes against her rival Catherine Muhindo who got 111 votes, Ruth Kabguho 54 votes and Annet Night 39 votes.

Kabugho is a former journalist and presenter at Messiah FM Radio. She also served as Minister-in-charge of Protocol in Obusinga Bwa Rwenzururu Cultural Institution.

The party’s electoral commission chairperson Charles Kambere said that the elections conducted on Monday were peaceful and a true reflection of what the members of the party want.

However, he decried the lack of resources that hampered the elections with some polling stations receiving voting materials late on Monday.

Annet Asiimwe an FDC supporter however says the party primaries were highly monetized.

With Mbaju out of the party race, FDC has lost three of its six MPs that represented the district in the 10th parliament.

The Kasese Municipality MP Robert Centenary did not pick the party’s nomination forms.


Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here