Burundi: President Evariste Ndayishimiye names cabinet

President Evariste Ndayishimiye. /Courtesy Photo
By :
AT Reporter

GITEGA – Burundi’s new president, Evariste Ndayishimiye, has appointed a new cabinet. The new appointments come afew days after parliament in Burundi approved nominations of the country’s vice president and prime minister.

In a Twitter post on Tuesday, the senate said it had approved Alain-Guillaume Bunyoni as prime minister and Bazombanza Prosper as vice president.

According to Burundi’s constitution, the prime minister is the head of government and the vice-president assists the president in the exercise of his duties.

While confirming the new cabinet, President Ndayishimiye said that, by Decree No. 100/008 of June 28, 2020, on the proposal of the Prime Minister and in consultation with the Vice-President, “the President has just appointed the members of the Government.”

These new members of government include 15 Ministers of whom 11 are men and 4 women.

Minister of the Interior, Community Development and Public Security: Police Commissioner Chief Gervais NDIRAKOBUCA

Minister of National Defense and Veterans Affairs: Ir Alain Tribert MUTABAZI

Minister of Justice: Madame Jeanine NIBIZI

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Development Cooperation: Amb. Albert SHINGIRO

Minister of Finance, Budget and Planning for Economic Development: Dr Domitien NDIHOKUBWAYO

Minister of National Education and Scientific Research: Dr Gaspard BANYANKIMBONA

Minister of Public Health and the Fight against AIDS: Dr Thaddée NDIKUMANA

Minister of the Environment, Agriculture and Livestock: Dr Déo Guide RUREMA

Minister of Infrastructure, Equipment and Social Housing: Mr. Déogratias NSANGANIYUMWAMI

Minister of Public Service, Labor and Employment: Madame Domine BANYANKIMBONA

Minister of Hydraulics, Energy and Mines: Ir Abraham UWIZEYE

Minister of Commerce, Transport, Industry and Tourism: Hon. Immaculate NDABANEZE

Minister of East African Community Affairs, Youth, Sports and Culture: Amb. Ezekiel NIBIGIRA

Minister of National Solidarity, Social Affairs, Human Rights and Gender: Madame Imelde SABUSHIMIKE

Minister of Communication, Information Technologies and Media: Mrs. Marie Chantal NIJIMBERE

– Evariste Ndayishimiye –

Ndayishimiye was sworn in last week as the new president of Burundi for a seven-year term in office, renewable once.

It followed ruling of the constitutional court which upheld Ndayishimiye as the winner of the presidential election held on May 20.

The court ordered the president-elect to take office immediately after the death of President Pierre Nkurunziza.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here