Billionaire Sudhir re-elected trustee on Indian Association of Uganda Board

By :
Baluku Geoffrey

Businessman Sudhir Ruparelia has been re-elected on the board of trustees of the Indian Association of Uganda.

Sudhir was re-elected during the association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) that was held in Kampala today.

Other trustees elected include; Munnangi Sita, Goutam Das, Dharmesh Patel, Ashwin Kumar Patel, Chacko Babu, and Koduvayur Parasuraman.

The AGM also saw Mr Mohan Rao elected as Executive Committee Chairman. He will be deputized by Mr Ravi Patel, Mr Mohamed Vaheed retains the slot of General Secretary while Mr. Sanjay Thakkar is the Joint Secretary. The treasurers slot was taken by Mr Sadrudin Allani while Mr. Hareesh Kumar takes that of joint Treasurer.

Committee Members that will also serve include Mr. Raju Hirani, Mr. Kalpesh Patel, Mr Dipesh Dholu and Mrs Batul Sabunwala. Others include Mr Srikant Swaminathan, Mr Azhar Ali Jaffer, and Mrs Reshmi Nayan.

Speaking to Africa Tembelea, Dr Sudhir Ruparelia said the Association which has for more than 100 years led Uganda’s Indian communities, focusses mainly on helping society in charitable engagements, defend dignity of mankind and work towards creating a good and long lasting relationship between the Ugandan Indians and Ugandan Africans.

A major achievement of the Association is that despite making up less than 1% of the Ugandan population, Indians remain a pillar of the country as they contribute an estimated 65% of Uganda’s tax revenue.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here