Acholi Province Is 2019 Fufa Drum Tournament Champion

Acholi Province Team players with the FUFA DRUM Trophy
By :
AT Sports

Acholi Province are the champions of the 2019 FUFA Drum Tournament. This land mark feat was achieved on Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at the new Akii Bua Stadium in Lira before hundreds of fans.

Acholi won the game 5-3 in the post-match penalty shoot-out following a goal-less draw in normal time.

Tito Okello, Alfred Onek, Richardson Asaba, Moses Okot and skipper Oola all scored the kicks from the penalty spot for Acholi.

Tito Okello with the Man of the Match Award

Disan Galiwango, Frank Kalanda and David “Colgate” Owori netted for Bukedi but Aaron Okoth was denied by Acholi goalkeeper Derrick Ochan.

Tito Okello was named the man of the match, taking home Shs 100,000 and a plaque.

Acholi took home Shs 32M as the total prize money while Bukedi took Shs 15M.

Individual winners:

Lango’s Bronson Nsubuga was named the Most Valuable Player of the Tournament.

Tito Okello of Acholi finished with 8 goals to take the top scorers’ accolade.

Bukedi’s goalkeeper Derrick Emukule was named best goalkeeper of the tournament that kicked off on 30th March 2019.

Running under the theme, “Celebrating our Ancestry”, this [Fufa Drum] tournament is aimed at taking the game to the masses based on 16 provinces of Uganda.


The FUFA DRUM best eleven had goalkeeper Derrick Emukule (G.K, Bukedi), Denis Okota Oola (Bukedi), Rashid Okocha (West Nile), Benjamin Nyakoojo (Tooro), Slyvester Okello (Acholi), Hudu Mulikyi (Acholi), Bronson Nsubuga (Lango), Fredson Gwot (Bukedi), Tito Okello (Acholi), Ibra Nsimbe (Bukedi) and Felix Okot (Acholi).

Team Line Ups:

Acholi XI: Derrick Ochan (G), Denis Okot Oola, Silvester Okello, Walter Ochora, Ronald Owing Ogenga, Felix Okot, Moses Okot (55’ Alfred Onek), Fred Agandu (Richardson Asaba), Hudu Mulikyi (85’ Norman Ojik), Isaac Otto, Tito Okello

Acholi Province Team sing the national anthem prior to kick off

Subs Not Used: Emmanuel Rubangakene (G.K), Stephen Junior Akena, Francis Onekalit, Andrew Kidega, Derrick Ocen, James Otim

Bukedi XI

Bukedi XI: Derrick Emukule (G.K), Joseph Othieno, Yeseri Waibi, Benon Tahomera, Edward Kabona, Ibrahim Pengere, Paul Dumba, David Owori, Ibra Nsimbe (80’Frank Kalanda), Fredson Gwoto (85’ Stephen Okello), Iddi Babu (40’ Disan Galiwango)

Subs Not Used: Patrick Wafula (G.K), Cosia Waiswa, Isaac Kisujju, Andrew Kiwanuka

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here